Competition rules

The competition is open to writers of any nationality writing in English.

The entries must be solely the work of the named author and by submitting you are confirming that the work is your own. Any evidence to the contrary will result in the entry's disqualification.

100 words maximum, no minimum, the title is not included in the word count.

Please email your entries as an attachment in MS Word format

Entrants may enter up to three (3) flash fictions in each competition.

Entries must never have been published, in print or online, and must never have won or been placed in any other competition. Self-publication on a blog, website or forum for sharing and workshopping does not count as ‘having been published’ and such stories are allowed

National Flash-Fiction Day will allow simultaneous submissions but, should your entries win a prize or are published they will become ineligible for the NFFD prizes.

All entries submitted can be on any subject, and written in any style or form.

Entrants may withdraw entries from the competition by notification in writing; entry fees will not be refunded.

The deadline date for entries is 23:59 (UK time) on 17th March 2018.

Entry format

Entries must be in English.

Entries must be submitted in Microsoft Word format.

Entries are not returned, keep a copy.

Amendments cannot be made to entries after they have been submitted.


Worldwide copyright of each entry remains with the author, but National Flash-Fiction Day will have the unrestricted right to publish the winning stories, (including Highly Commendeds), in its anthologies and any relevant promotional material.


The judges' decision is final and no individual correspondence can be entered into.

Judges are unable to comment on individual entries

Judging is fair and unbiased

National Flash-Fiction Day reserves the right to change the panel of judges without notice

This year’s judges include

Anne Patterson

Kevlin Henney

Rob Walton

Angela Readman

Brianna Snow

Ingrid Jendrzejewski.


The full list of this year's prizes is still to be confirmed, but will include, as a minimum, the following:

First Prize

Jawbreakers - NFFD 2012 AnthologyThe Book of Small Changes by Tim StevensonRapture and what comes after by Virginia Moffatt
28 Far Cries by Marc NashLost Property by Calum Kerr50 pounds cash

Second Prize

Jawbreakers - NFFD 2012 AnthologyBraking Distance by Calum KerrThe Book of Small Changes by Tim Stevenson30 pounds cash

Third Prize

Jawbreakers - NFFD 2012 Anthology31 by Calum KerrThe Book of Small Changes by Tim Stevenson15 pounds cash