Skip to content

2019 Micro Fiction Competition Results!

It is with great pleasure that we announce the winning and highly commended stories of this year's National Flash Fiction Day micro fiction competition!

These ten stories have now been published on our website and will be published in the forthcoming 2019 National Flash Fiction Day anthology, due to be published in June.
Congratulations to our winning stories and their authors:
First Place Winner:
For you, I am by Alison Woodhouse
Second Place Winner:
Havasu Falls by Sara Hills
Third Place Winner:
Charlie Walker's Thirst by Nan Wigington
Congratulations to our highly commended stories and their authors:
Great Sorrows are Mute by Gaynor Jones
Nil by Mouth by S Yap
His Name was Ash by Michelle Christophorou
Last Night I Saved a Moth from Drowning by Elaine Mead
Three Strangers by Claire Boot
Behind Every Sign is a Story by James Burt

Lists by Hollie Monhemius

All of the winning stories are available to read here on our website: 2019 Microfiction Results.

Again, we'd like to take this opportunity to thank all of you for sending us your micros and to our judges, Angela Readman, Diane Simmons, Judy Darley, and Kevlin Henney, for the difficult but enjoyable task of reading through all of your entries.

We'll be in touch with our highly commended and winning authors in the near future. If you have also submitted to the 2019 anthology, we will be announcing the line up by the middle of next week!

2 thoughts on “2019 Micro Fiction Competition Results!

  1. Pingback: The 507 micro fictions I have read | SkyLightRain

  2. Pingback: Announcing the 2019 National Flash Fiction Day Lineup! – National Flash-Fiction Day

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *